SHAMING THE FAT AWAY

What a fantastic post Anastasia!

re|evolutionary

This morning I had the unfortunate experience of watching a particularly vile video. This was brought to my attention by Dr Yoni Freedhoff and I have to say that I share his outrage. The video is supposed to be a “satirical representation” of a typical encounter between a doctor and an overweight patient. It was published on a popular medical website Kevin MD, the “social media’s leading physician’s voice”.

“This is the video which will make you feel sorry for doctors treating obesity”. 

Please watch.

My first inclination after watching this was to smash my computer screen. My second inclination was to write a post. If you are reading this I chose the second. There are many MANY features of this video which are both disturbing and revealing of our current public health system and societal attitudes to obesity.

Let’s start with the title of the article: THIS IS THE…

View original post 671 more words

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “SHAMING THE FAT AWAY

  1. Just noticed this post. Thanks Andrew. I see that the video has now been taken down. I suspected that this will happen and am glad I took some screenshots to give the readers a bit of an idea of the imagery on the video.

Leave a Reply

